Astronomical Calendar - A.D. 2018

Dominical Letter: "G" - Used in a Perpetual Calendar. For Year of 2018.


Authored By Glenn A. Walsh *** Sponsored By Friends of the Zeiss
Electronic Mail: < astrocalendar@planetarium.cc > *** Internet Web Cover Page: < http://www.planetarium.cc >
This Internet Web Page: < http://buhlplanetarium4.tripod.com/astrocalendar/2018.html >
SpaceWatchtower Blog
2018 January

Internet Web Site Master Index for the History of
The Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh

SpaceWatchtower Blog


ASTRONOMICAL / CALENDAR EVENTS --

A.D. 2018

January ** February ** March

April ** May ** June

July ** August ** September

October ** November ** December


2018

Equinoxes (EQX), Solstices (SOLC), and Cross-Quarter (XQ) Days

Chronological Cycles and Eras

Astro Calendar
Current Month

Astro Calendar
Archives


Constellations
For Year

Star Charts
For Year

Moon Phases:
Archive * 2018 * Today

Next 27.32166 Days (Orbital Period)
(Scroll to bottom of page)

Planets, Stars, Sky Events:
Today *** This Week

Solar System *** Archive

Occultations:

Archive * 2018

10,000-Year
Calendar

Astronomy Links

Science Links

Astronomical Glossary
Click here for links to the Moon, planets, star clusters, stars, and other astronomical terms referred to in this Astronomical Calendar.

2018 Equinoxes (EQX), Solstices (SOLC), and Cross-Quarter (XQ) Days - Archive

* Fri., Feb. 2 - Traditional Astronomical Cross-Quarter Day Imbolc, and also Candlemas, better known as Groundhog Day. (First traditional Astronomical Cross-Quarter Day of year; approximate mid-way point in Winter season: Feb. 1 Eve - Feb. 2).
(Groundhog Day at Gobler's Knob, Punxsutawney PA 15767, home of Punxsutawney Phil: - Sunrise: 7:26 a.m. EST / 12:26 UTC) .

* Tue., March 20, 12:15 p.m. EDT / 16:15 UTC - Vernal Equinox - Season of Spring begins in Earth's Northern Hemisphere: beginning of New Year (solar calendar) in Afghanistan and Iran. (~March 20)

* Tue., May 1 - Traditional Astronomical Cross-Quarter Day Beltaine, better known as May Day - Second traditional Astronomical Cross-Quarter Day of year; approximate mid-way point in Spring season (May 1).

* Thur., June 21, 6:07 a.m. EDT / 10:07 UTC - Summer Solstice - Season of Summer begins in Earth's Northern Hemisphere (~June 21).
Also see 1985-1991: Summer "Solstice Day," Annual Free Day at Buhl Planetarium.

* Wed., Aug. 1 - Astronomical Mid-Point of Summer - Traditional Astronomical Cross-Quarter Day, also known as “Lammas” (in the United Kingdom) and “Lughnassad” (in Ireland). Considered approximate date of First Harvest (third traditional cross-quarter day of the year), approximately between the Midsummer Solstice and the Autumnal Equinox (July 31 Eve - Aug. 1).

* Sat., Sept. 22 - Falls Prevention Awareness Day (First day of Fall: ~Sept. 22-23).

* Sat., Sept. 22, 9:54 p.m. EDT / Sept. 23, 1:54 UTC - Autumnal Equinox - Season of Autumn begins in Earth's Northern Hemisphere. (~Sept. 22)
Also see: Harvest Moon.

* Wed., Oct. 31 / Thur., Nov. 1 / Fri., Nov. 2 - Traditional Astronomical Cross-Quarter Day Samhain or "All-Hallowsmas", better known as Halloween (Oct. 31 - "All Hallows Eve"), All-Saints Day (Nov. 1), All-Souls Day (Nov. 2) (fourth and last traditional cross-quarter day of year).

What is a "Cross-Quarter Day" ?
What is the Astronomical significance of
Halloween, All-Saints Day, and All-Souls Day?
Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3 *** Link 4

* Fri., Dec. 21 - Homeless Persons' Memorial Day. (First day of Winter; longest night of the year: ~Dec. 21)

* Fri., Dec. 21, 5:23 p.m. EST / 22:23 UTC - Winter Solstice - Season of Winter begins in Earth's Northern Hemisphere. (~Dec. 21-22)
Also see: "The Stars of Winter" and "The Star of Bethlehem" Planetarium Sky Dramas (web sites include entire planetarium show scripts), performed each Winter in the Theater of the Stars of Pittsburgh's original Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science.

Chronological Cycles and Eras Corresponding to Anno Domini (A.D.) 2018 or 2018 Common Era (C.E.) - Archive

Unless otherwise indicated, all dates are given in terms of the Gregorian Calendar.
For recent years, January 14 of the Gregorian Calendar corresponds to January 1 of the Julian Calendar.

Dominical Letter: "G" - Used in a Perpetual Calendar. For Year of 2018.
Epact: 13.
Golden Number (Lunar Cycle): V.
Julian Period (Year of): 6731.
Roman Indiction: 11.
Solar Cycle (28-year cycle of the Julian calendar): 11.

Byzantine Year 7527 Begins Sept. 14.
Jewish Year (A.M.) 5779 Begins at Sunset, Sept. 10.
Chinese Year of the Earth Dog 4716 Begins Feb. 16.
Roman A.U.C. (Dates from the founding of the City of Rome) Year 2771 Begins Jan. 14.
Nabonassar Year 2767 Begins April 23.
Japanese (Heisei) Year 2678 - Period or Era 30 Begins January 1.
Grecian Year (Selucidae) 2330 Begins Sept. 14 (or Oct. 14).
Indian Year (Saka) 1940 Begins March 22.
Diocletian Era (Era of the Martyrs) Year 1735 Begins Sept. 11.
Islamic (Hegira) Year 1440 Begins at first viewing of lunar crescent (New Moon) on evening of Sept. 11.

NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh


A.D. 2018

Astronomical Calendar: 2018 January
Monthly Observances This Month

Total Lunar Eclipse: Jan. 31

* Quadrantid Meteor Shower: Jan. 3 to 4

Moon Phases:
Today *** Calendar Month
Next 27.32166 Days
(Orbital Period)

Planets, Stars, Sky Events:
Today *** This Week
Solar System *** Occultations
Constellations *** Star Chart
View ISS (Space Station)

2018 Equinoxes (EQX), Solstices (SOLC), and Cross-Quarter (XQ) Days
2018 Chronological Cycles and Eras
Dominical Letter: "G" - Used in a Perpetual Calendar. For Year of 2018.

Astronomical Glossary
of Terms Used

Astronomical Calendar
Archives

Other
Astronomical Calendars: Link 1 * Link 2

10,000-Year Calendar

Rise & Set Times

Current Sky Events & Astro Phenomena

News: Astronomy, Space, Science --

Weekly: SpaceWatchtower Blog

Daily: SpaceWatchtower Twitter Feed

History of Pittsburgh's Original
Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science

Astronomy Links

Science Links


a.m. = Ante-Meridiem (Morning: Midnight to a moment before Noon)

p.m. = Post-Meridiem (Afternoon & Evening: a moment after Noon to a moment before Midnight of the next day)

EST = Eastern Standard Time *** EDT = Eastern Daylight Saving Time *** UTC = Coordinated Universal Time


* Nov. 1 to April 30 - Use of life jackets by every person on a small boat (less than 16 feet in length), during cold-weather months, is mandatory. (Nov. 1 to April 30)

* Sun., 2017 Dec. 31 - Make Up Your Mind Day. (Dec. 31)

* Sun., 2017 Dec. 31 - Eve of New Year's Day (Traditional). (Dec. 31)

* Sun., 2017 Dec. 31, 6:59:60 p.m. EST / 23:59:60 UTC - Positive 'Leap Second' added to the civil time scale, to help keep clocks synchronized with the slowing rotation rate of the Earth. (Periodically: last additional second of last minute of June 30 and / or December 31)

* Sun., 2017 Dec. 31, 7:00:00 p.m. EST / 2018 Jan. 1, 00:00:00 UTC - Marks the beginning of the New Year by the Coordinated Universal Time scale, the time scale used by many scientists. (Dec. 31)

* Mon., Jan. 1 - Feast of the Circumcision of Christ - Eighth day of the 12 days of Christmas: Dec. 25 to Jan. 5. During the Gregorian Calendar reform, Pope Gregory XIII, chose the Feast of the Circumcision of Christ as the beginning of the New Year in the Roman Catholic Church's Liturgical Year; previously, the Feast of the Annunciation on March 25 (also the Vernal Equinox in the "original" Julian Calendar adopted by the second king of Rome, Numa Pompilius, in the 7th century B.C.) had been considered the beginning of the New Year. (Jan. 1)

* Mon., Jan. 1 - Last day of Kwanzaa - Week-long holiday observance honoring African-American heritage. (Dec. 26 to Jan. 1)

* Mon., Jan. 1 (1863) - Anniversary: Emancipation Proclamation issued by U.S. President Abraham Lincoln during the American Civil War, which decreed that slaves in the rebellious states are free forever. (Jan. 1)

* Mon., Jan. 1 - First Day Hikes in America’s State Parks. (Jan. 1)

* Mon., Jan. 1, 12:00:00 Midnight (00:00:00) Prevailing Local Time - For Eastern Standard Time (EST) Zone in North America: 12:00:00 Midnight EST / 5:00:00 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) which correlates with 12:00:00 Midnight EST - New Year's Day: New Calendar Year begins. (Jan. 1)

* Mon., Jan. 1, 5:00 p.m. EST / 22:00 UTC - Moon at perigee - Distance to Earth: 221,559 statute miles / 356,565 kilometers.
Large tides predicted along ocean coastlines, due to proximity to the time of a Full Moon, this month a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Mon., Jan. 1, 9:24 p.m. EST / Jan. 2, 2:24 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Wolf Moon).
Closest to Earth, and largest in appearance, Full Moon of 2018; a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Wed., Jan. 3 - U.S. Congress begins second session of 115th Congress, U.S. Capitol Building, Washington DC. (Jan. 3)

* Wed., Jan. 3, 1:00 a.m. EST / 6:00 UTC - Earth at perihelion (closest Earth approach to the Sun in New Year): 91,401,982 statute miles / 147,097,233 kilometers. (Jan. 2 to 4)

* Wed., Jan. 3, 2:37 p.m. EST / 19:37 UTC - Moon passes very close to Beehive Open Star Cluster, as viewed from Earth.

* Wed., Jan. 3, 4:00 p.m. EST / 21:00 UTC - (Best viewing: Midnight to Dawn) - Peak of Quadrantid Meteor Shower. (Jan. 3 to 4)

* Thur., Jan. 4 - Latest time of sunrise, for the year, for locales (such as Pittsburgh) at or near +40 North Latitude. (Jan. 4)

* Thur., Jan. 4, 9:34 p.m. EST / Jan. 5, 2:34 UTC - Double-shadow (shadows of 2 Galilean Moons) transit on Jupiter; visible, with difficulty, through telescope after sunset or before sunrise.

* Fri., Jan. 5 - National Bird Day. (Jan. 5)

* Fri., Jan. 5 - National Returns Day - When the most UPS returns packages are sent back to retailers. (Jan. 5)

* Fri., Jan. 5, 3:00 a.m. EST / 8:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.9 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Alaska, northern Canada, extreme eastern portion of Russia, Greenland, Iceland, Svalbard (Norway), most of Europe, northwestern portion of Africa.

* Fri., Jan. 5, Evening - "12th Night" of Christmas; end of the 12 days of Christmas, which began on Christmas Day. (Jan. 5)

* Jan. 6 to 15 - CITIZEN SCIENCE: Monthly Globe at Night campaign, to raise public awareness of the impact of light pollution by encouraging everyone everywhere to measure local levels of night sky brightness and contribute observations on-line to a world map.

* Sat., Jan. 6 - Feast of the Epiphany; the day after the "12th Night" of Christmas. Tradition celebrates Epiphany as day the Magi arrived in Bethlehem to present gifts to the Christ child. (Jan. 6)

* Sat., Jan. 6, 11:00 p.m. EST / Jan. 7, 4:00 UTC - Mars 0.2 degree south of Jupiter.

* Sun., Jan. 7 - Orthodox Christmas - As determined by Julian Calendar. (Jan. 7)

* Jan. 7 to 13 - Winter Driving Awareness Week.

* Mon., Jan. 8 (1851), 2:00 a.m. Paris Time - Earth's Rotation Day - Anniversary: French physicist Jean Leon Foucault develops a simple device to finally demonstrate and prove that the Earth rotates on its axis: Foucault Pendulum. He demonstrated the Foucault Pendulum, before scientists at the Paris Observatory, on 1851 February 3.
Near the end of his life, Jean Leon Foucault also developed the Siderostat-type Refractor Telescope. (Jan. 8)

* Mon., Jan. 8 - National Clean Off Your Desk Day. (2nd Monday of January)

* Mon., Jan. 8, 5:25 p.m. EST / 22:25 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Tue., Jan. 9 (1793) - First balloon flight in America. (Jan. 9)

* Tue., Jan. 9, 2:00 a.m. EST / 7:00 UTC - Venus at superior conjunction with the Sun (Venus not visible, even with a telescope).

* Wed., Jan. 10 (1920) - Founding of the League of Nations. (Jan. 10)

* Thur., Jan. 11 - National Human Trafficking Awareness Day. (Jan. 11)

* Thur., Jan. 11, 1:00 a.m. EST / 6:00 UTC - Jupiter 4 degrees south of the Moon.

* Thur., Jan. 11, 5:00 a.m. EST / 10:00 UTC - Mars 5 degrees south of the Moon.

* Thur., Jan. 11, 11:00 p.m. EST / Jan. 12, 4:00 UTC - Asteroid 4 Vesta 0.4 degree north of the Moon; occultation: southern Africa, Madagascar, Antarctica (France portion), southwestern portion of Australia, Tasmania.

* Fri., Jan. 12, 12:45 a.m. EST / 5:45 UTC - Double-shadow (shadows of 2 Galilean Moons) transit on Jupiter; visible, with difficulty, through telescope after sunset or before sunrise.

* Sat., Jan. 13 - New Year's Eve, according to the Julian Calendar. (Jan. 13)

* Sat., Jan. 13, 2:00 a.m. EST / 7:00 UTC - Mercury 0.6 degree south of Saturn.

* Sun., Jan. 14 - Beginning of the New Year, according to the Julian Calendar. (Jan. 14)

* Sun., Jan. 14, 9:00 p.m. EST / Jan. 15, 2:00 UTC - Saturn 3 degrees south of the Moon.

* Sun., Jan. 14, 9:00 p.m. EST / Jan. 15, 2:00 UTC - Moon at apogee - Distance from Earth: 252,565 statute miles / 406,464 kilometers.

* Mon., Jan. 15, 2:00 a.m. EST / 7:00 UTC - Mercury 3 degrees south of the Moon.

* Mon., Jan. 15 (1929) - Anniversary of the Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. (Observed - USA: Third Monday in January): Birth of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.. (Jan. 15)

* Mon., Jan. 15 (2001) - Anniversary of launch of Wikipedia, free-of-charge, on-line encyclopedia. (Jan. 15)

* Wed., Jan. 17 - Kid Inventors’ Day (K.I.D.), on January 17 in honor of the birth of famous inventor Benjamin Franklin, who invented the first swim flippers at the age of 12. (Jan. 17)

* Wed., Jan. 17, 9:17 p.m. EST / Jan. 18, 2:17 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1176.

* Fri., Jan. 19, 4:43 a.m. EST / 9:43 UTC - Double-shadow (shadows of 2 Galilean Moons) transit on Jupiter; visible, with difficulty, through telescope after sunset or before sunrise.

* Sat., Jan. 20, 3:30 a.m. EST / 20:30 UTC - Moon passes very close to Neptune, as viewed from Earth.

* Sun., Jan. 21 - Squirrel Appreciation Day. (Jan. 21)

* Jan. 22 to 28 - National Drug & Alcohol Facts Week. (4th week of January)

* Tue., Jan. 23 - Venus aphelion.

* Tue., Jan. 23, 11:01 p.m. EST / Jan. 25, 4:01 UTC - Moon passes close to Uranus, as viewed from Earth.

* Wed., Jan. 24 - National Compliment Day. (Jan. 24)

* Wed., Jan. 24, 5:20 p.m. EST / 22:20 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Thur., Jan. 25 (1915) - First transcontinental telephone call. (Jan. 25)

* Thur., Jan. 25, 6:24 a.m. EST / 11:24 UTC - Mercury aphelion.

* Fri., Jan. 26 - Australia Day, commemorating the first landing in Australia by Captain Arthur Phillip. (Jan. 26)

* Sat., Jan. 27 - Holocaust Remembrance Day (UN). (Jan. 27)

* Sat., Jan. 27 (1967) - Anniversary of Apollo 1 fire; three astronauts perished: Gus Grissom, Ed White, Roger Chaffee. (Jan. 27)

* Sat., Jan. 27 (1926) - First public demonstration, in London, of a black-and-white, mechanical television system. (Jan. 27)

* Sat., Jan. 27, 6:00 a.m. EST / 11:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.7 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Alaska, northwestern portion of North America, Mongolia, most of China, most of Russia, most of India, central portion of Asia.

* Jan. 28 to Feb. 3 - National Catholic Schools Week. (End of January / Beginning of February)

* Sun., Jan. 28 (1986) - Anniversary of STS Space Shuttle Challenger explosion; seven astronauts perished: Francis Scobee, Michael Smith, Elison Onizuka, Judith Resnik, Ronald McNair, Gregory Jarvis, Christa McAuliffe (Teacher-in-Space). (Jan. 28)
Viewed at Pittsburgh's original Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science (a.k.a. Buhl Science Center).

* Sun., Jan. 28 - Data Privacy Day. (Jan. 28)

* Mon., Jan. 29 - Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) Awareness Day. (Jan. 29)

* Mon., Jan. 29 - Puzzle Day. (Jan. 29)

* Mon., Jan. 29 - National Bubble-Wrap Appreciation Day, first used by IBM to safely ship computers in 1961. (Last Monday of January)

* Tue., Jan. 30, 5:00 a.m. EST / 10:00 UTC - Moon at perigee - Distance from Earth: 223,068 statute miles / 358,994 kilometers.
Large tides predicted along ocean coastlines, due to proximity to the time of a Full Moon, this month a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Wed., Jan. 31 (1958) - Anniversary of the first successful launch, by the USA, of an artificial satellite: Explorer 1. (Jan. 31)

* Wed., Jan. 31, 8:00 a.m. EST / 13:00 UTC - Asteroid Ceres at opposition (Ceres visible, with difficulty in a telescope, approx. local sunset to local sunrise).

* Wed., Jan. 31, 8:27 a.m. EST / 13:27 UTC - Full Moon: "Blue Moon", second Full Moon in a calendar month.
Another so-called "Super-Moon."

* Wed., Jan. 31, 8:29:49.6 a.m. EST / 13:29:49.6 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Total Eclipse of the Moon, visible over most of the Earth except most of South America, most of Africa, Western Europe, and Antarctica.
An Eclipse of the Moon / Lunar Eclipse is the type of eclipse completely safe to watch with telescopes, binoculars, and the naked-eyes.

Return to History of The Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh

Astronomical Calendar - A.D. 2018

Authored By Glenn A. Walsh *** Sponsored By Friends of the Zeiss
Electronic Mail: < astrocalendar@planetarium.cc > *** Internet Web Cover Page: < http://www.planetarium.cc >
This Internet Web Page: < http://buhlplanetarium4.tripod.com/astrocalendar/2018.html >
SpaceWatchtower Blog
2018 January

Internet Web Site Master Index for the History of
The Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh

NEWS: Planetarium, Astronomy, Space, and Other Sciences

See an Unexplained Object in the Sky ?
Have a Question About Astronomy or Other Sciences?
Ask an Expert from Friends of the Zeiss !

Other Internet Web Sites of Interest

History of The Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh

History of Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum, Chicago

Astronomer, Educator, and Telescope Maker John A. Brashear

History of Andrew Carnegie and Carnegie Libraries

Historic Duquesne Incline cable-car railway, Pittsburgh

Disclaimer Statement: This Internet Web Site is not affiliated with the Andrew Carnegie Free Library,
Ninth Pennsylvania Reserves Civil War Reenactment Group, Henry Buhl, Jr. Planetarium and Observatory,
The Carnegie Science Center, The Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh/Carnegie Institute, or The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh.

This Internet, World Wide Web Site administered by Glenn A. Walsh.
Unless otherwise indicated, all pages in this web site are --
© Copyright 2018, Glenn A. Walsh, All Rights Reserved.
Contact Web Site Administrator: < astrocalendar@planetarium.cc >.

This Internet World Wide Web page created on 2017 Dec. 31.
Last modified : Tuesday, 02-Jan-2018 19:07:41 EST.

You are visitor number , to this web page, since 2017 Dec. 31.