Primary Phases of Earth's Moon Each Month of the Year:
A.D. 2018

Also, Eclipses (beginning 2007 March); Monthly Times of Lunar Apogee and Perigee (beginning 2007 April)

A.D. 2018

January ** February ** March

April ** May ** June

July ** August ** September

October ** November ** December

Astro Calendar
Current Month

Astro Calendar
Archives

Primary
Moon Phase
Archive

Astronomical Glossary
Click here for links to the Moon, planets, star clusters, stars, and other astronomical terms referred to in this Astronomical Calendar.

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Current Phase *** Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh


A.D. 2018

2018 January

* Mon., Jan. 1, 5:00 p.m. EST / 22:00 UTC - Moon at perigee - Distance to Earth: 221,559 statute miles / 356,565 kilometers.
Large tides predicted along ocean coastlines, due to proximity to the time of a Full Moon, this month a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Mon., Jan. 1, 9:24 p.m. EST / Jan. 2, 2:24 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Wolf Moon).
Closest to Earth, and largest in appearance, Full Moon of 2018; a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Mon., Jan. 8, 5:25 p.m. EST / 22:25 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Sun., Jan. 14, 9:00 p.m. EST / Jan. 15, 2:00 UTC - Moon at apogee - Distance from Earth: 252,565 statute miles / 406,464 kilometers.

* Wed., Jan. 17, 9:17 p.m. EST / Jan. 18, 2:17 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1176.

* Wed., Jan. 24, 5:20 p.m. EST / 22:20 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., Jan. 30, 5:00 a.m. EST / 10:00 UTC - Moon at perigee - Distance from Earth: 223,068 statute miles / 358,994 kilometers.
Large tides predicted along ocean coastlines, due to proximity to the time of a Full Moon, this month a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Wed., Jan. 31, 8:27 a.m. EST / 13:27 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - "Blue Moon", second Full Moon in a calendar month.
Another so-called "Super-Moon."

* Wed., Jan. 31, 8:29:49.6 a.m. EST / 13:29:49.6 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Total Eclipse of the Moon, visible over most of the Earth except most of South America, most of Africa, Western Europe, and Antarctica.
An Eclipse of the Moon / Lunar Eclipse is the type of eclipse completely safe to watch with telescopes, binoculars, and the naked-eyes.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 February

* Wed., Feb. 7, 10:54 a.m. EST / 15:54 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Sun., Feb. 11, 9:00 a.m. EST / 14:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,090 statute miles / 405,700 kilometers.

* Thur., Feb. 15, 3:51:24.3 p.m. EST / 20:51:24.3 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for A deep Partial Solar Eclipse visible in 2/3 of the Antarctic Continent, eastern portion of the Australian Continent, New Zealand, and much of the South American Continent: Link 1 *** Link 2
NEVER look directly at a Solar Eclipse or Eclipse of the Sun unless you have the training and proper equipment to do so safely!
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING

* Thur., Feb. 15, 4:05 p.m. EST / 21:05 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1177.

* Fri., Feb. 23, 3:09 a.m. EST / 8:09 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., Feb. 27, 10:00 a.m. EST / 15:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 226,136 statute miles / 363,932 kilometers.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 March

* Thur., March 1, 7:51 p.m. EST / March 2, 0:51 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Snow Moon).

* Fri., March 9, 6:20 a.m. EST / 11:20 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Sun., March 11, 5:17 a.m. EDT / 9:17 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,455.251332218 statute miles / 404,678 kilometers.

* Sat., March 17, 9:12 a.m. EDT / 13:12 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1178.

* Sat., March 24, 11:35 a.m. EDT / 15:35 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Mon., March 26, 1:00 p.m. EDT / 17:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 229,351.835281952 statute miles / 369,106 kilometers.

* Sat., March 31, 8:37 a.m. EDT / 12:37 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Worm Moon) - "Blue Moon", second Full Moon in a calendar month.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 April

* Sun., April 8, 2:00 a.m. EDT / 6:00 UTC - Moon apogee: 251,123.439115563 statute miles / 404,144 kilometers.

* Sun., April 8, 3:18 a.m. EDT / 7:18 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Sun., April 15, 9:57 p.m. EDT / April 16, 1:57 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1179.

* Fri., April 20, 11:00 a.m. EDT / 15:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 229,108.257774595 statute miles / 368,714 kilometers.

* Sun., April 22, 5:46 p.m. EDT / 21:46 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Sun., April 29, 8:58 p.m. EDT / April 30, 0:58 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon. (Pink Moon)

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 May

* Sat., May 5, 9:00 p.m. EDT / May 6, 1:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,317.928298734 statute miles / 404,457 kilometers.

* Mon., May 7, 10:09 p.m. EDT / May 8, 2:09 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Tue., May 15, 7:48 a.m. EDT / 11:48 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1180.

* Thur., May 17, 5:00 p.m. EDT / 21:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 226,039.92683 statute miles / 363,776 kilometers.

* Mon., May 21, 11:49 p.m. EDT / May 22, 3:49 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., May 29, 10:20 a.m. EDT / 14:20 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Flower Moon).

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 June

* Sat., June 2, 1:00 p.m. EDT / 17:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,852 statute miles / 405,317 kilometers.

* Wed., June 6, 2:32 p.m. EDT / 18:32 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Wed., June 13, 3:43 p.m. EDT / 19:43 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1181.

* Thur., June 14, 8:00 p.m. EDT / June 15, 0:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 223,384 statute miles / 359,503 kilometers.

* Wed., June 20, 6:51 a.m. EDT / 10:51 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Thur., June 28, 12:53 a.m. EDT / 4:53 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Strawberry Moon.

. * Fri., June 29, 11:00 p.m. EDT / June 30, 3:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,314 statute miles / 406,061 kilometers.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 July

* Fri., July 6, 3:51 a.m. EDT / 7:51 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Thur., July 12, 10:48 p.m. EDT / July 13, 2:48 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1182.

* Thur., July 12, 11:01:07.0 p.m. EDT / July 13, 3:01:07.0 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Partial Eclipse of the Sun / Partial Solar Eclipse, visible from the southeastern tip of Australia through the Antarctic Ocean to a tip of Antarctica: Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3.
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING.

* Fri., July 13, 4:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 222,097.32661 statute miles / 357,431 kilometers.
Large Tides Along Ocean Coast-Lines Predicted, due to Primary Moon Phase of New Moon (and Partial Solar Eclipse) only a few hours before the Moon's perigee.

* Thur., July 19, 3:52 p.m. EDT / 19:52 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Fri., July 20 (1969), 10:56:20 p.m. EDT / July 21, 2:56:20 UTC - "Moon Day" - Anniversary of the moment the first human (Neil Armstrong) set foot on the Earth's Moon, during the NASA mission of Apollo 11: Link 1 *** Link 2. (July 20)
Special Note: Neil Armstrong was originally scheduled to first step on the Moon during the early morning hours of Monday ("Moonday"), July 21. Although this historic moment actually occurred earlier than scheduled, during the July 20 television prime-time in America, it actually did occur on "Moonday," July 21 at 2:56:20 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), the time-scale used by many scientists.
Also see: Personal remembrance of Apollo 11 mission.

* Fri., July 27, 2:00 a.m. EDT / 6:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,415.26982 statute miles / 406,223 Kilometers.

* Fri., July 27, 4:20 p.m. EDT / 20:20 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Buck Moon.
Smallest appearance of the Full Moon for entire year.

* Fri., July 27, 4:21:43.5 p.m. EDT / 20:21:43.5 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for a Total Eclipse of the Moon / Total Lunar Eclipse, visible in Europe, Asia, Africa, and Australia. This eclipse will be the longest Total Lunar Eclipse in the 21st century (lasting approx. 1 hour, 43 minutes), as it occurs within a little more than a half-day of lunar apogee: Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3.
Eclipses of the Moon / Lunar Eclipses are the only types of eclipses safe to look at with the naked-eyes, binoculars, or telescopes.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 August

* Sat., Aug. 4, 2:18 p.m. EDT / 18:18 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Fri., Aug. 10, 2:00 p.m. EDT / 18:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 222,499 statute miles / 358,078 kilometers.
Large tides predicted along ocean coast-lines due to New Moon Primary Moon Phase the next day.

* Fri., Aug. 10, after Sunset - International Starry Night. (Aug. 10 - just before peak of annual Perseid Meteor Shower)

* Fri., Aug. 10, 11:16 p.m. EDT / Aug. 11, 3:16 UTC - As it appears in the sky, the Moon moves close to Mercury.

* Aug. 11 to 17, after Sunset - International Starlight Week. (Week coinciding with annual Perseid Meteor Shower)

* Sat., Aug. 11 - For +40 degrees North Latitude (Latitude of Pittsburgh), annual Heliacal Rising of the Star Sirius (Dog Star), the brightest star in the night sky, the first time Sirius can be seen in the morning sky for the year. In ancient times, the Heliacal Rising of Sirius coincided with the flooding of the Nile River, which was and still is Egypt's life-line; the Heliacal Rising of Procyon (Little Dog Star), which annually occurred a little ahead of the Heliacal Rising of Sirius, gave the ancients extra warning for the soon-Heliacal Rising of Sirius. At that time, it was thought that the heat from the brightest star (Sirius), rising near the same time as the rising of the Sun, contributed to the great heat of the Summer Season. (Aug. 11)

* Sat., Aug. 11, 3:48 a.m. EDT / 7:48 UTC - Launch: Planned launch of NASA Parker Solar Probe.

* Sat., Aug. 11, 5:46:18.8 a.m. EDT / 9:46:18.8 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for a Partial Solar Eclipse (last Eclipse of the year & third Partial Solar Eclipse of the year), visible in the Northern Hemisphere (northeastern portion of Canada, Greenland, Iceland, Northern Europe, northern and eastern Asia): Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3.
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING.

* Sat., Aug. 11, 5:58 a.m. EDT / 9:58 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1183.

* Sat., Aug.18, 3:49 a.m. EDT / 7:49 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Thur., Aug. 23, 7:00 a.m. EDT / 11:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,118 statute miles / 405,746 kilometers.

* Sun., Aug. 26, 7:56 a.m. EDT / 11:56 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Sturgeon Moon.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 September

* Sun., Sept. 2, 10:37 p.m. EDT / Sept. 3, 2:37 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Fri., Sept. 7, 9:00 p.m. EDT / Sept. 8, 1:00 UTC - The Moon at perigee: 224,533 statute miles / 361,351 kilometers.

* Sun., Sept. 9, 2:01 p.m. EDT / 18:01 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1184.

* Mon., Sept. 10, Sunset (Sunset in Pittsburgh: 7:37 p.m. EDT / 23:37 UTC) - Islamic New Year ( Muharram): Based on lunar calendar, but the New Moon must be observable ( astronomical considerations).

* Sun., Sept. 16, 7:15 p.m. EDT / 23:15 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Wed., Sept. 19, 9:00 p.m. EDT / Sept. 20, 1:00 UTC - The Moon at apogee: 251,578 statute miles / 404,876 kilometers.

* Sat., Sept. 22 - Falls Prevention Awareness Day. (First day of Fall: ~Sept. 22-23)

* Sat., Sept. 22, 9:54 p.m. EDT / Sept. 23, 1:54 UTC - Autumnal Equinox; beginning of Season of Autumn in the Northern Hemisphere.
Also see: Harvest Moon.

* Mon., Sept. 24, Evening - Mid-Autumn Festival / Moon Festival - A popular harvest festival celebrated by Chinese and Vietnamese people, dating back over 3,000 years to Moon worship in China's Shang Dynasty. It is celebrated on the date close to the Autumnal Equinox of the Solar Calendar, as well as close to the Full Moon Phase.

* Mon., Sept. 24, 10:52 p.m. EDT / Sept. 25, 2:52 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Corn Moon & Harvest Moon. (The Harvest Moon occurs each year within 15 days of the Autumnal Equinox, on the night of the Full Moon between early September to early October of the Gregorian Calendar)

* Tue., Sept. 25 (1676) - Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), forerunner of today's Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), first established. (Sept. 25)

* Tue., Sept. 25 - Equilux - The actual day with equal hours and minutes of the Sun above the horizon, and equal hours and minutes of the Sun below the horizon. Occurs twice each year, approximately 3-to-4 days before the Vernal Equinox and 3-to-4 days after the Autumnal Equinox. (March 16, September 25)

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 October

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 November

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2018 December

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans


NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh