Occultations, Eclipses, and Solar Transits of Planets (Mercury or Venus)
Visible Each Month:
A.D. 2019

(Beginning 2007 June)

A.D. 2019

January ** February ** March

April ** May ** June

July ** August ** September

October ** November ** December

Astro Calendar
Current Month

Astro Calendar
Archives

Occultations
Archive

Astronomical Glossary
Click here for links to the Moon, planets, star clusters, stars, and other astronomical terms referred to in this Astronomical Calendar.

Planets Defined --

Planet Mercury *** Planet Venus *** Planet Earth: Aphelion *** Perihelion *** Perihelion of Earth

Moon of Earth: Apogee *** Perigee *** Primary Moon Phases: Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Planet Mars *** Planet Jupiter *** Planet Saturn *** Planet Uranus *** Planet Neptune *** Dwarf Planet Pluto

NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh


A.D. 2019

2019 January

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

***

* Sat., Jan. 5, 8:28 p.m. EST / Jan. 6, 1:28 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1188.

* Sat., Jan. 5, 8:41:27 p.m. EST / Jan. 6, 1:41:27 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Partial Solar Eclipse / Partial Eclipse of the Sun, visible in northeastern section of Asia (including Japan and portions of Russia and China) and the North Pacific Ocean, and a small part of the eclipse may be visible in extreme western Alaska -
Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING

***

***

* Mon., Jan. 21, 12:12:16.0 a.m. EST / 5:12:16.0 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Total Lunar Eclipse / Total Eclipse of the Moon, visible throughout the Western Hemisphere as well as portions of the eclipse visible in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East - Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3 *** Link 4
ALWAYS SAFE TO LOOK AT A LUNAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE MOON WITH THE NAKED-EYE (ONE-POWER), BINOCULARS, OR A TELESCOPE.

* Mon., Jan. 21, 12:16 a.m. EST / 5:16 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Wolf Moon).
As this Full Moon is near the monthly Lunar Perigee, some consider this a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Mon., Jan. 21, 3:00 p.m. EST / 20:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 222,042 statute miles / 357,342 kilometers.
Large Tides Along Ocean Coast-Lines Predicted, due to Primary Moon Phase of Full Moon (and Total Lunar Eclipse / Total Eclipse of the Moon) only hours before Lunar Perigee.

***

* Thur., Jan. 31, 1:00 p.m. EST / 18:00 UTC - Venus 0.1 degree south of the Moon; occultation: eastern portion of Micronesia, Polynesia but not including Hawaii, Galapagos Islands, southern portion of Central America, northwestern portion of South America.

2019 February

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Sat., Feb. 2, 2:00 a.m. EST / 7:00 UTC - Saturn 0.6 degree south of the Moon; occultation: central and southern portions of Europe, Middle East, northern and northeastern portions of Africa, portions of southern Russia, western portion of Asia.

* Sat., Feb. 2, 3:00 p.m. EST / 20:00 UTC - Dwarf Planet Pluto 0.6 degree south of the Moon; occultation: central and western sections of North America (however, not visible in Alaska except visible in Aleutian Islands), Hawaii, northern portion of Micronesia.

* Wed., Feb. 6, 3:00 a.m. EST / 8:00 UTC - Asteroid / Minor Planet 4 Vesta 1.1 degrees south of the Moon; occultation: portions of western Russia.

2019 March

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Fri., March 1, 1:00 p.m. EST / 18:00 UTC - Saturn 0.3 degree south of the Moon; occultation: southern portion of North America, Central America, Pacific Islands of northern portion of Polynesia, most of Micronesia, but NOT Hawaii.

* Sat., March 2, 3:00 p.m. EST / 20:00 UTC - Dwarf Planet Pluto 0.6 degree south of the Moon; occultation: northeastern portion of Africa, southwestern portion of Europe, Middle East, India, most of southern and eastern portions of Asia, most of China, most of Mongolia.

* Fri., March 29, 1:00 a.m. EDT / 5:00 UTC - Saturn 0.05 degree north of the Moon; occultation: eastern limb of Brazil, southern portion of Africa, Madagascar, southern tip of India, Sri Lanka.

* Fri., March 29, 8:00 a.m. EDT / 12:00 UTC - Dwarf Planet Pluto 0.3 degree south of the Moon; occultation: southern and western portions of Mexico, Central America, northern half of South America, Madeira (Portugal), Cape Verde Islands, western limb of Africa .

2019 April

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Thur., April 25, 10:00 a.m. EDT / 14:00 UTC - Saturn 0.4 degree north of the Moon; occultation: western portion of South America, eastern portion of Australia, New Zealand.

* Thur., April 25, 4:00 p.m. EDT / 20:00 UTC - Dwarf Planet Pluto 0.1 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Australia, Melanesia, southeastern portion of Micronesia, northwestern portion of Polynesia.

2019 May

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Thur., May 2, 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 UTC - Asteroid 4 Vesta 0.2 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Galapagos Islands, northern portion of South America, Azore Islands, Cape Verde Islands, northwestern portion of Africa, southern portion of Europe.

* Sun., May 19, 2:00 p.m. EDT / 18:00 UTC - Asteroid & Dwarf Planet Ceres 1.2 degrees north of the Moon; occultation: portions of Antarctica.

* Wed., May 22, 6:00 p.m. EDT / 22:00 UTC - Saturn 0.5 degree north of the Moon; occultation: southern tip of Africa, eastern portions of Antarctica, Kerguelen Islands, most of Australia, southern portion of New Zealand.

* Thur., May 23, 12:00 Midnight EDT / 4:00 UTC - Dwarf Planet Pluto 0.1 degree north of the Moon; occultation: central portion of South America, southern and eastern portions of Africa.

* Thur., May 30, 6:00 p.m. EDT / 22:00 UTC - Asteroid 4 Vesta 0.6 degree south of the Moon; occultation: portions of Indonesia, eastern portion of Africa, northwestern portion of Micronesia, Aleutian Islands of Alaska, northwestern portion of North America.

2019 June

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Sat., June 15, 11:00 a.m. EDT / 15:00 UTC - Asteroid & Dwarf Planet 1 Ceres 0.9 degree south of the Moon; occultation: central and eastern portions of Russia, northeastern portion of Kazakhstan, northern and eastern portions of China, Japan.

* Wed., June 19, 12:00 Midnight EDT / 4:00 UTC - Saturn 0.4 degree north of the Moon; occultation: southern portion of South America, Easter Island, Antarctica Peninsula, southern portion of Africa.

* Wed., June 19, 7:00 a.m. EDT / 11:00 UTC - Pluto 0.1 degree north of the Moon; occultation: northeastern portion of Australia, Melanesia, southern portions of Micronesia & Polynesia, western portion of South America, Central America.

2019 July

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Tue., July 2, 3:16 p.m. EDT / 19:16 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation #1194.

* Tue., July 2, 3:22:53.0 p.m. EDT / 19:22:53.0 UTC - Time of Greatest Eclipse for Total Eclipse of the Sun, visible in Chile and Argentina, as well as the Southern Pacific Ocean: Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3.
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING

* Thur., July 4, 2:00 a.m. EDT / 6:00 UTC - Mars 0.1 degree south of the Moon; occultation: eastern tip of Africa, most of Arabia, most of Asia, Micronesia.

* Tue., July 16, 3:00 a.m. EDT / 7:00 UTC - Saturn 0.2 degree north of the Moon; occultation: Melanesia, South Polynesia, Easter Island, central portion of South America (as appears in the sky, Moon passes closest to Saturn at July 15, 10:14 p.m. EDT / July 16, 2:14 UTC)..

* Tue., July 16, 1:00 p.m. EDT / 17:00 UTC - Dwarf Planet Pluto 0.04 degree south of the Moon; occulation: eastern portion of Africa, Madagascar, southern portion of Indonesia, northern and western portions of Australia, western portion of Micronesia.

* Tue., July 16, 5:30:43.5 p.m. EDT / 21:30:43.5 UTC - Time of Greatest Eclipse for Partial Lunar Eclipse visible from Australia, Africa, South America, most of Europe and Asia: Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3.
A Lunar Eclipse / Eclipse of the Moon is the only type of eclipse that is completely safe to watch directly with the naked-eyes, binoculars, and telescopes.

* Tue., July 16, 5:38 p.m. EDT / 21:38 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Buck Moon.

2019 August

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Mon., Aug. 12, 6:00 a.m. EDT / 10:00 UTC - Saturn 0.04 degree north of the Moon; occultation: eastern portion of Indonesia, majority of Australia, northern portion of New Zealand, Melanesia, Polynesia not including Hawaii.

* Mon., Aug. 12, 6:00 p.m. EDT / 22:00 UTC - Dwarf Planet Pluto 0.1 degree south of the Moon; occultation: northeastern portion of South America, Ascension Island (British Territory), eastern and central portions of Africa, southern portion of the Arabian Peninsula.

2019 September

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

2019 October

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* No major occultations or eclipses this month.

2019 November

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

2019 December

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --


NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh