Occultations, Eclipses, and Solar Transits of Planets (Mercury or Venus)
Visible Each Month:
A.D. 2017

(Beginning 2007 June)

A.D. 2017

January ** February ** March

April ** May ** June

July ** August ** September

October ** November ** December

Astro Calendar
Current Month

Astro Calendar
Archives

Occultations
Archive

Astronomical Glossary
Click here for links to the Moon, planets, star clusters, stars, and other astronomical terms referred to in this Astronomical Calendar.

Planets Defined --

Planet Mercury *** Planet Venus *** Planet Earth: Aphelion *** Perihelion *** Perihelion of Earth

Moon of Earth: Apogee *** Perigee *** Primary Moon Phases: Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Planet Mars *** Planet Jupiter *** Planet Saturn *** Planet Uranus *** Planet Neptune *** Dwarf Planet Pluto

NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh


A.D. 2017

2017 January

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Mon., Jan. 2, 11:00 p.m. EST / Jan. 3, 4:00 UTC - Neptune 0.4 degree south of the Moon; occultation: majority of Southeast Asia, Micronesia, Hawaii, West Coast of North America.

* Tue., Jan. 3, 2:00 a.m. EST / 7:00 UTC - Mars 0.2 degree south of the Moon; occultation: southern tip of India, majority of Southeast Asia, Micronesia.

* Mon., Jan. 9, 10:00 a.m. EST / 15:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.4 degree south of the Moon; occultation: northeastern portion of Africa, Middle East, India, China, Japan.

* Sun., Jan. 15, 12:00 Midnight EST / 5:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.8 degree north of the Moon; occultation: southern half of South America, Antarctic Peninsula.

* Mon., Jan. 30, 6:00 a.m. EST / 11:00 UTC - Neptune 0.2 degree south of the Moon; occultation: South Atlantic Ocean including Ascension Island, central portion of Africa, Saudi Arabia, India, western portion of China.

2017 February

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Thur., Feb. 2, 9:00 p.m. EST / Feb. 3, 2:00 UTC - Asteroid & Dwarf Planet Ceres 1.0 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Alaska, northern Canada, Greenland, eastern portion of Siberia in Russia.

* Sun., Feb. 5, 5:00 p.m. EST / 22:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.2 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Central America, northern portion of South America, Caribbean Sea, southern portion of Europe, northern portion of Africa, western portion of the Middle East.

* Fri., Feb. 10, 7:33 p.m. EST / Feb. 11, 0:33 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Snow Moon).

* Fri., Feb. 10, 7:43:52.9 p.m. EST / Feb. 11, 0:43:52.9 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Penumbral Lunar Eclipse, dimly visible through most of the world except extreme western Alaska, extreme eastern Asia, Australia, New Zealand and most of the Pacific Ocean.

* Sat., Feb. 11, 9:00 a.m. EST / 14:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.8 degree north of the Moon; occultation: Australia, New Zealand, Wilkes Land section of Antarctica.

* Sun., Feb. 26, 9:53:24.3 a.m. EST / 14:53:24.3 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Annular Solar Eclipse visible in a narrow path from the South Pacific Ocean through Chile, Argentina, South Atlantic Ocean, Angola, Zambia, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. A Partial Solar Eclipse will be visible over a wider area of the eastern portion of the South Pacific Ocean, southern two-thirds of South America, South Atlantic Ocean, southern two-thirds of Africa, and a small portion of Antarctica.
NEVER look directly at a Solar Eclipse or Eclipse of the Sun unless you have the training and proper equipment to do so safely.
SAFE WAY TO VIEW SOLAR ECLIPSE OR ECLIPSE OF THE SUN

* Sun., Feb. 26, 9:58 a.m. EST / 14:58 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1165.

2017 March

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Thur., March 2, 4:00 p.m. EST / 21:00 UTC - Asteroid & Dwarf Planet Ceres 0.8 degree north of the Moon; occultation: southern half of South America, Antarctic Peninsula, British territory of South Georgia Island.

* Sat., March 4, 10:00 p.m. EST / March 5, 3:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.2 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Soloman Islands, Micronesia, Hawaii, North America, Central America, western portion of the Caribbean Sea.

* Fri., March 10, 6:00 p.m. EST / 23:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.8 degree north of the Moon; occultation: southeastern portion of South America, British territory of South Georgia Island, Norwegian territory of Queen Maud Land on Antarctica, southern tip of South Africa.

* Sun., March 26, 4:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 UTC - Neptune 0.005 degree north of the Moon; occultation: British territory of Ascension Island, South Africa, northern portion of Madagascar, Yemen, Oman, southwestern portion of Asia.

2017 April

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Sat., April 1, 5:00 a.m. EDT / 9:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.3 degree south of the Moon; occultation: northeastern section of Africa, Arabia, India, Mongolia, China, Japan.

* Fri., April 7, 12:34 a.m. EDT / 4:34 UTC - Star Regulus 0.7 degree north of the Moon; occultation: South Polynesia, Antarctic Peninsula, southern tip of South America.

* Sat., April 22, 3:55 p.m. EDT / 19:55 UTC - Neptune 0.2 degree north of the Moon; occultation: majority of the continent of Australia, New Zealand, southeastern portion of Melanesia, and a portion of Polynesia.

* Mon., April 24, 12:00 Noon EDT / 16:00 UTC - Asteroid 2 Pallas 0.8 degree south of the Moon; occultation: majority of North America, Greenland, Iceland, Ireland.

* Fri., April 28, 2:00 p.m. EDT / 18:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.5 degree south of the Moon; occultation: United States, eastern section of Canada, Cuba, southern tip of Greenland, Europe, North Africa.

2017 May

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Thur., May 4, 6:00 a.m. EDT / 10:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.5 degree north of the Moon; occultation: Indonesia, Malaysia, southern portion of New Guinea, Australia, New Zealand.

* Sat., May 20, 2:00 a.m. EDT / 6:00 UTC - Neptune 0.5 degree north of the Moon; occultation: Falkland Islands in Atlantic Ocean off of Argentina, southern portion of Africa, Madagascar, Republic of Maldives in the Indian Ocean.

* Wed., May 31, 1:00 p.m. EDT / 17:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.3 degree north of the Moon; occultation: eastern portion of Brazil, Cape Verde Islands, central and southern portions of Africa except southern tip of continent, Mauritius.

2017 June

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Fri., June 16, 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 UTC - Neptune 0.7 degree north of the Moon; occultation: western portion of Antarctica, southern half of South America.

* Thur., June 22, 11:00 a.m. EDT / 15:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.5 degree south of the Moon; occultation: most of North America, southern portion of Greenland, Azore Islands of Portugal, most of Europe, northwestern portion of Africa.

* Tue., June 27, 9:00 p.m. EDT / June 28, 1:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.03 degree north of the Moon; occultation: Islands of Micronesia, Hawaii, Ecuador including the Galapagos Islands, Peru.

2017 July

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Thur., July 13, 2:00 p.m. EDT / 18:00 UTC - Neptune 0.9 degree north of the Moon; occultation: majority of Antarctica, New Zealand (including Chatham Island).

* Wed., July 19, 8:00 p.m. EDT / July 20, 0:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.4 degree south of the Moon; occultation: much of Asia including northeastern and central sections and India, Aleutian Islands of Alaska, Hawaii.

* Tue., July 25, 5:00 a.m. EDT / 9:00 UTC - Mercury 0.9 degree south of the Moon; occultation: northern Europe including the United Kingdom, majority of Greenland, northern half of Asia.

* Tue., July 25, 7:00 a.m. EDT / 11:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.07 degree south of the Moon; occultation: northern half of Africa, Middle East, southern portion of India, Indonesia.

2017 August

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Mon., Aug.7, 2:11 p.m. EDT / 18:11 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Sturgeon Moon.

* Mon., Aug.7, 2:20:27.7 p.m. EDT / 18:20:27.7 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for shallow Partial Eclipse of the Moon, visible in Eastern Hemisphere of Earth, weather-permitting:
Link 1 *** Link 2.

* Wed., Aug. 9, 7:00 p.m. EDT / 23:00 UTC - Neptune 0.9 degree north of the Moon; occultation: west tip of Australia, majority of Antarctic Continent, Kerguelen Islands (southern Indian Ocean) of France.

* Wed., Aug. 16, 3:00 a.m. EDT / 7:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.4 degree south of the Moon; occultation: north tip of South America, Caribbean Sea, northern section of Africa, Europe, Middle East, western portion of Asia.

* Fri., Aug.18, 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 227,497.0423 statute miles / 366,121 kilometers.

* Mon., Aug. 21, 2:25:31.5 p.m. EDT / 18:25:31.5 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for the Great American Solar Eclipse, which will be visible throughout the United States. A Total Eclipse of the Sun will be visible in a narrow band (approx. 70.8 statute miles / 114 kilometers in width) across the country from Oregon to South Carolina:
Link 1 *** Link 2.
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING
Solar Pinhole Viewing Box
Great American Solar Eclipse Next Mon.: Some Ways to See It Safely
Citizen Science: Aug. 21 Great American Solar Eclipse Mega-Movie Project
Solar Haiku By Diane Woodward Dorff
Safe Public Viewing of Great American Solar Eclipse in South Suburban Pittsburgh

* Mon., Aug. 21, 2:30 p.m. EDT / 18:30 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1171.

2017 September

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Wed., Sept. 6, 1:00 a.m. EDT / 5:00 UTC - Neptune 0.8 degree north of the Moon; occultation: southeastern section of South America, South Georgia Island (U.K.), majority of Antarctic Continent.

* Tue., Sept. 12, 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.4 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Hawaii, North America, Central America, Azore Islands (Portugal).

* Sun., Sept. 17, 9:00 p.m. EDT / Sept. 18, 1:00 UTC - Venus 0.5 degree north of the Moon; occultation: Southeast Asia, Australia, New Zealand.

* Mon., Sept. 18, 1:00 a.m. EDT / 5:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.1 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Middle East, northeastern portion of Africa, Southeast Asia, northern section of Australia.

* Mon., Sept. 18, 4:00 p.m. EDT / 20:00 UTC - Mars 0.1 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Hawaii, northeastern portion of the Micronesia Islands, northwestern section of South America, Galapagos Islands (Ecuador).

* Mon., Sept. 18, 7:00 p.m. EDT / 23:00 UTC - Mercury 0.03 degree north of the Moon; occultation: Micronesia, northern section of Polynesia, extreme eastern section of Asia.

2017 October

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

* Tue., Oct. 3, 8:00 a.m. EDT / 12:00 UTC - Neptune 0.7 degree north of the Moon; occultation: Kerguelen Islands (French possession in Indian Ocean), majority of Antarctica, southeastern tip of Australia, New Zealand, southwestern portion of Polynesia.

* Mon., Oct. 9, 3:00 p.m. EDT / 19:00 UTC - Star Aldebaran 0.6 degree south of the Moon; occultation: Alaska, northwestern portion of Canada, central and northeastern sections of Asia.

* Sun., Oct. 15, 7:00 a.m. EDT / 11:00 UTC - Star Regulus 0.2 degree south of the Moon; occultation: all of North America except Canada, most areas of the Caribbean Sea, Cape Verde Islands, western portion of Africa.

* Mon., Oct. 30 5:00 p.m. EDT / 21:00 UTC - Neptune 0.9 degree north of the Moon; occultation: majority of Antarctic Continent, southern tip of Africa.

2017 November

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --

2017 December

Occultations and Eclipses Visible This Month --


NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh