Primary Phases of Earth's Moon Each Month of the Year:
A.D. 2019

Also, Eclipses (beginning 2007 March); Monthly Times of Lunar Apogee and Perigee (beginning 2007 April)

A.D. 2019

January ** February ** March

April ** May ** June

July ** August ** September

October ** November ** December

Astro Calendar
Current Month

Astro Calendar
Archives

Primary
Moon Phase
Archive

Astronomical Glossary
Click here for links to the Moon, planets, star clusters, stars, and other astronomical terms referred to in this Astronomical Calendar.

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Current Phase *** Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh


A.D. 2019

2019 January

***

* Sat., Jan. 5, 8:28 p.m. EST / Jan. 6, 1:28 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1188.

* Sat., Jan. 5, 8:41:27 p.m. EST / Jan. 6, 1:41:27 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Partial Solar Eclipse / Partial Eclipse of the Sun, visible in northeastern section of Asia (including Japan and portions of Russia and China) and the North Pacific Ocean, and a small part of the eclipse may be visible in extreme western Alaska -
Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING

***

* Tue., Jan. 8, 11:00 p.m. EST / Jan. 9, 4:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,349 statute miles / 406,117 kilometers.

* Mon., Jan. 14, 1:45 a.m. EST / 6:45 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

***

* Mon., Jan. 21, 12:12:16.0 a.m. EST / 5:12:16.0 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Total Lunar Eclipse / Total Eclipse of the Moon, visible throughout the Western Hemisphere as well as portions of the eclipse visible in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East - Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3 *** Link 4
ALWAYS SAFE TO LOOK AT A LUNAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE MOON WITH THE NAKED-EYE (ONE-POWER), BINOCULARS, OR A TELESCOPE.

* Mon., Jan. 21, 12:16 a.m. EST / 5:16 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Wolf Moon).
As this Full Moon is near the monthly Lunar Perigee, some consider this a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Mon., Jan. 21, 3:00 p.m. EST / 20:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 222,042 statute miles / 357,342 kilometers.
Large Tides Along Ocean Coast-Lines Predicted, due to Primary Moon Phase of Full Moon (and Total Lunar Eclipse / Total Eclipse of the Moon) only hours before Lunar Perigee.

***

* Sun., Jan. 27, 4:10 p.m. EST / 21:10 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 February

* Mon., Feb. 4, 4:03 p.m. EST / 21:03 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1189.

* Tue., Feb. 5, 4:00 a.m. EST / 9:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,621.56506 statute miles / 406,555 kilometers.

* Tue., Feb. 12, 5:26 p.m. EST / 22:26 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., Feb. 19, 4:00 a.m. EST / 9:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 221,681.00791 statute miles / 356,761 kilometers.
Large Tides Along Ocean Coast-Lines Predicted, due to Primary Moon Phase of Full Moon only hours after Lunar Perigee.

* Tue., Feb. 19, 10:53 a.m. EST / 15:53 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Snow Moon).
Largest Full Moon visible from Earth, and closest Full Moon to Earth, in 2019, due to Lunar Perigee only hours earlier - what some refer to as a so-called "Super-Moon."

* Tue., Feb. 26, 6:28 a.m. EST / 11:28 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 March

* Mon., March 4, 6:00 a.m. EST / 11:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,519.66018 statute miles / 406,391 kilometers.

* Wed., March 6, 11:04 a.m. EST / 16:04 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1190.

* Thur., March 14, 6:27 a.m. EDT / 10:27 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., March 19, 4:00 p.m. EDT / 20:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 223,306.51495 statute miles / 359,377 kilometers.

* Wed., March 20, 9:43 p.m. EDT / March 21, 1:43 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Worm Moon.

* Thur., March 28, 12:10 a.m. EDT / 4:10 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Sat., March 31, 8:00 p.m. EDT / April 1, 0:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,013.86403 statute miles / 405,577 kilometers.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 April

* Sat., March 31, 8:00 p.m. EDT / April 1, 0:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,013.86403 statute miles / 405,577 kilometers.

* Fri., April 5, 4:50 a.m. EDT / 8:50 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1191.

* Fri., April 12, 3:06 p.m. EDT / 19:06 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., April 16, 6:00 p.m. EDT / 22:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 226,306 statute miles / 364,205 kilometers.

* Fri., April 19, 7:12 a.m. EDT / 11:12 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon. (Pink Moon)

* Fri., April 26, 6:18 p.m. EDT / 22:18 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Sun., April 28, 2:00 p.m. EDT / 18:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,395 statute miles / 404,582 kilometers.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 May

* Sat., May 4, 6:45 p.m. EDT / 22:45 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1192.

* Sat., May 11, 9:12 p.m. EDT / May 12, 1:12 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Mon., May 13, 6:00 p.m. EDT / 22:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 229,291.56228 statute miles / 369,009 kilometers.

* Sat., May 18, 5:11 p.m. EDT / 21:11 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Flower Moon.
Blue Moon, as this is the third Full Moon in one calendar season.

* Sun., May 26, 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,119.71089 statute miles / 404,138 kilometers.

* Sun., May 26, 12:34 p.m. EDT / 16:34 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 June

* Mon., June 3, 6:02 a.m. EDT / 10:02 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1193.

* Fri., June 7, 7:00 p.m. EDT / 23:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 228,977 statute miles / 368,504 kilometers.

* Mon., June 10, 1:59 a.m. EDT / 5:59 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Mon., June 17, 4:31 a.m. EDT / 8:31 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Strawberry Moon.

* Sun., June 23, 4:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,374 statute miles / 404,548 kilometers.

* Tue., June 25, 5:46 a.m. EDT / 9:46 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 July

* Tue., July 2, 3:16 p.m. EDT / 19:16 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation #1194.

* Tue., July 2, 3:22:53.0 p.m. EDT / 19:22:53.0 UTC - Time of Greatest Eclipse for Total Eclipse of the Sun, visible in Chile and Argentina, as well as the Southern Pacific Ocean: Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3.
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING

* Fri., July 5, 1:00 a.m. EDT / 5:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 226,008 statute miles / 363,726 kilometers.

* Tue., July 9, 6:55 a.m. EDT / 10:55 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., July 16, 5:30:43.5 p.m. EDT / 21:30:43.5 UTC - Time of Greatest Eclipse for Partial Lunar Eclipse visible from Australia, Africa, South America, most of Europe and Asia: Link 1 *** Link 2 *** Link 3.
A Lunar Eclipse / Eclipse of the Moon is the only type of eclipse that is completely safe to watch directly with the naked-eyes, binoculars, and telescopes.

* Tue., July 16, 5:38 p.m. EDT / 21:38 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Buck Moon.

* Sat., July 20, 8:00 p.m. EDT / July 21, 0:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,954 statute miles / 405,481 kilometers.

* Sat., July 20 (1969), 10:56:20 p.m. EDT / July 21, 2:56:20 UTC - "Moon Day" - 50th Anniversary of the moment the first human (Neil Armstrong) set foot on the Earth's Moon, during the NASA mission of Apollo 11: Link 1 *** Link 2. (July 20)
Special Note: Neil Armstrong was originally scheduled to first step on the Moon during the early morning hours of Monday ("Moonday"), July 21. Although this historic moment actually occurred earlier than scheduled, during the July 20 television prime-time in America, it actually did occur on "Moonday," July 21 at 2:56:20 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), the time-scale used by many scientists.
Also see: Personal remembrance of Apollo 11 mission.

* Wed., July 24, 9:18 p.m. EDT / July 25, 1:18 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Wed., July 31, 11:12 p.m. EDT / Aug. 1, 3:12 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1195.
This second New Moon phase in one calendar month is also referred to as a so-called Black Moon.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 August

* Wed., July 31, 11:12 p.m. EDT / Aug. 1, 3:12 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1195.
This second New Moon phase in one calendar month is also referred to as a so-called Black Moon.

* Fri., Aug. 2, 3:00 a.m. EDT / 7:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 223,319.494658 statute miles / 359,398 kilometers.

* Wed., Aug. 7, 1:31 p.m. EDT / 17:31 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Thur., Aug. 15, 8:29 a.m. EDT / 12:29 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Sturgeon Moon.

* Sat., Aug.17, 7:00 a.m. EDT / 11:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,428.240524 statute miles / 406,244 kilometer.

* Fri., Aug. 23, 10:56 a.m. EDT / 14:56 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Fri., Aug. 30, 6:37 a.m. EDT / 10:37 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1196.
This second New Moon phase in one calendar month is also referred to as a so-called Black Moon.

* Fri., Aug. 30, 12:00 Noon EDT / 16:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 221,938.808296 statute miles / 357,176 kilometers.
Large Tides predicted along ocean coast-lines, due to close proximity to New Moon Primary Phase.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 September

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 October

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 November

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2019 December

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans


NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh