Primary Phases of Earth's Moon Each Month of the Year:
A.D. 2017

Also, Eclipses (beginning 2007 March); Monthly Times of Lunar Apogee and Perigee (beginning 2007 April)

A.D. 2017

January ** February ** March

April ** May ** June

July ** August ** September

October ** November ** December

Astro Calendar
Current Month

Astro Calendar
Archives

Primary
Moon Phase
Archive

Astronomical Glossary
Click here for links to the Moon, planets, star clusters, stars, and other astronomical terms referred to in this Astronomical Calendar.

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Current Phase *** Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh


A.D. 2017

2017 January

* Thur., Jan. 5, 2:47 p.m. EST / 19:47 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., Jan. 10, 1:00 a.m. EST / 6:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 225,705.6291 miles / 363,238 kilometers.

* Thur., Jan. 12, 6:34 a.m. EST / 11:34 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Wolf Moon).

* Thur., Jan. 19, 5:13 p.m. EST / 22:13 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Sat., Jan. 21, 7:00 p.m. EST / Jan. 22, 0:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,601.8949 miles / 404,914 kilometers.

* Fri., Jan. 27, 7:07 p.m. EST / Jan. 28, 0:07 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1164.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 February

* Fri., Feb. 3, 11:19 p.m. EST / Feb. 4, 4:19 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Mon., Feb. 6, 9:00 a.m. EST / 14:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 229,171.6376 miles / 368,816 kilometers.

* Fri., Feb. 10, 7:33 p.m. EST / Feb. 11, 0:33 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Snow Moon).

* Fri., Feb. 10, 7:43:52.9 p.m. EST / Feb. 11, 0:43:52.9 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Penumbral Lunar Eclipse, dimly visible through most of the world except extreme western Alaska, extreme eastern Asia, Australia, New Zealand and most of the Pacific Ocean.

* Sat., Feb. 18, 2:33 p.m. EST / 19:33 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Sat., Feb. 18, 4:00 p.m. EST / 21:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,267.5972 miles / 404,376 kilometers.

* Sun., Feb. 26, 9:53:24.3 a.m. EST / 14:53:24.3 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for Annular Solar Eclipse visible in a narrow path from the South Pacific Ocean through Chile, Argentina, South Atlantic Ocean, Angola, Zambia, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. A Partial Solar Eclipse will be visible over a wider area of the eastern portion of the South Pacific Ocean, southern two-thirds of South America, South Atlantic Ocean, southern two-thirds of Africa, and a small portion of Antarctica.
NEVER look directly at a Solar Eclipse or Eclipse of the Sun unless you have the training and proper equipment to do so safely.
SAFE WAY TO VIEW SOLAR ECLIPSE OR ECLIPSE OF THE SUN

* Sun., Feb. 26, 9:58 a.m. EST / 14:58 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1165.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 March

* Fri., March 3, 3:00 a.m. EST / 8:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 229,324.4949 miles / 369,062 kilometers.

* Sun., March 5, 6:32 a.m. EST / 11:32 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Sun., March 12, 10:54 a.m. EDT / 14:54 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Worm Moon).

* Sat., March 18, 1:00 p.m. EDT / 17:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,437.853 miles / 404,650 kilometers.

* Mon., March 20, 11:58 a.m. EDT / 15:58 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Mon., March 27, 10:57 p.m. EDT / March 28, 2:57 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1166.

* Thur., March 30, 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 226,087.7724 miles / 363,853 kilometers.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 April

* Mon., April 3, 2:39 p.m. EDT / 18:39 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Tue., April 11, 2:08 a.m. EDT / 6:08 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon. (Pink Moon)

* Sat., April 15, 6:00 a.m. EDT / 10:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,950.4842 miles / 405,475 kilometers.

* Wed., April 19, 5:57 a.m. EDT / 9:57 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Wed., April 26, 8:16 a.m. EDT / 12:16 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1167.

* Thur., April 27, 12:07 p.m. EDT / 16:07 UTC - Moon at perigee: 223,275.4464 miles / 359,327 kilometers. Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 May

* Tue., May 2, 10:47 p.m. EDT / May 3, 2:47 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Wed., May 10, 5:42 p.m. EDT / 21:42 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon (Flower Moon).

* Fri., May 12, 4;00 p.m. EDT / 20:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,407.192 miles / 406,210 kilometers.

* Thur., May 18, 8:33 p.m. EDT / May 19, 0:33 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Thur., May 25, 3:44 p.m. EDT / 19:44 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1168.

* Thur., May 25, 9:00 p.m. EDT / May 26, 1:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 221,958.1395 miles / 357,207 kilometers.
Very High Tides Along Ocean Coast-Lines Predicted.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 June

* Thur., June 1, 8:42 a.m. EDT / 12:42 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Thur., June 8, 6:00 p.m. EDT / 22:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,525.8739 statute miles / 406,401 kilometers.

* Fri., June 9, 9:10 a.m. EDT / 13:10 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Strawberry Moon.
Smallest Full Moon of 2017 due to Lunar Apogee previous day.

* Sat., June 17, 7:33 a.m. EDT / 11:33 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Fri., June 23, 7:00 a.m. EDT / 11:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 222,411.7404 statute miles / 357,937 kilometers.

* Fri., June 23, 10:31 p.m. EDT / June 24, 2:31 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1169.

* Fri., June 30, 8:51 p.m. EDT / July 1, 0:51 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 July

* Fri., June 30, 8:51 p.m. EDT / July 1, 0:51 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Thur., July 6, 12:00 Midnight EDT / 4:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 252,235.6935 statute miles / 405,934 kilometers.

* Sun., July 9, 12:07 a.m. EDT / 4:07 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Buck Moon.

* Sun., July 16, 3:26 p.m. EDT / 19:26 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Thur., July 20 (1969), 10:56:20 p.m. EDT / July 21, 2:56:20 UTC - "Moon Day" - Anniversary of the moment the first human (Neil Armstrong) set foot on the Earth's Moon, during the NASA mission of Apollo 11: Link 1 *** Link 2. (July 20)
Special Note: Neil Armstrong was originally scheduled to first step on the Moon during the early morning hours of Monday ("Moonday"), July 21. Although this historic moment actually occurred earlier than scheduled, during the July 20 television prime-time in America, it actually did occur on "Moonday," July 21 at 2:56:20 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), the time-scale used by many scientists.
Also see: Personal remembrance of Apollo 11 mission.

* Fri., July 21, 1:00 p.m. EDT / 17:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 224,461.644 statute miles / 361,236 kilometers.

* Sun., July 23, 5:46 a.m. EDT / 9:46 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1170.

* Sun., July 30, 11:23 a.m. EDT / 15:23 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 August

* Wed., Aug. 2, 2:00 p.m. EDT / 18:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,670.8671 statute miles / 405,025 kilometers.

* Mon., Aug.7, 2:11 p.m. EDT / 18:11 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Full Moon - Sturgeon Moon.

* Mon., Aug.7, 2:20:27.7 p.m. EDT / 18:20:27.7 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for shallow Partial Eclipse of the Moon, visible in Eastern Hemisphere of Earth, weather-permitting:
Link 1 *** Link 2.

* Mon., Aug. 14, 9:15 p.m. EDT / Aug. 15, 1:15 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: Last Quarter.

* Fri., Aug.18, 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 UTC - Moon at perigee: 227,497.0423 statute miles / 366,121 kilometers.

* Mon., Aug. 21, 2:25:31.5 p.m. EDT / 18:25:31.5 UTC - Time of greatest eclipse for the Great American Solar Eclipse, which will be visible throughout the United States. A Total Eclipse of the Sun will be visible in a narrow band (approx. 70.8 statute miles / 114 kilometers in width) across the country from Oregon to South Carolina:
Link 1 *** Link 2.
SOLAR ECLIPSE / ECLIPSE OF THE SUN: TIPS FOR SAFE VIEWING
Solar Pinhole Viewing Box
Great American Solar Eclipse Next Mon.: Some Ways to See It Safely
Citizen Science: Aug. 21 Great American Solar Eclipse Mega-Movie Project
Solar Haiku By Diane Woodward Dorff
Safe Public Viewing of Great American Solar Eclipse in South Suburban Pittsburgh

* Mon., Aug. 21, 2:30 p.m. EDT / 18:30 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: New Moon - Lunation # 1171.

* Tue., Aug. 29, 4:13 a.m. EDT / 8:13 UTC - Primary Moon Phase: First Quarter.

* Wed., Aug. 30, 7:00 a.m. EDT / 11:00 UTC - Moon at apogee: 251,225.344 statute miles / 404,308 kilometers.

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 September

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 October

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 November

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans

2017 December

Current Phase *** Primary Phases Next 27.322 Days (Orbital Period)

Primary Phases of Moon Defined -- New Moon *** First Quarter *** Full Moon *** Last (or "Third") Quarter

Full Moon Names and Their Meanings, as Defined by Native Americans


NEWS: Astronomy, Space, Science

History of Buhl Planetarium and Institute of Popular Science, Pittsburgh